Working as a phone support rep, what's your worst stories?

Justin89

I worked as a phone support representative for a brief time, and I hated every minute of it. I had one caller call because his order didn't get shipped. I checked the tracking, and it was never shipped. So when that happens, I tell the buyer that we would have to send a new order out, as the original order didn't move out of the warehouse. He complained up a storm, calling me a child, saying I could easily check and get the right package sent. I told him that I can't as I am in a completely different location, and then he went off on me some more, saying my dad would be disappointed in me, and that I should talk to him about being a man. 

I tried to stay as calm as possible, but it was just so damn anxiety inducing, so I just kept reiterating that all I could do, is send you a new package out, as the old one won't be sent out, as it's either stuck in the warehouse, or lost somewhere. He wasn't having it and then decided to hang up. I was so mad. People don't seem to have any patience when it comes to anything these days. 

So, ever since I have had no interest in doing any support/tech support/phone support work. It's just too stressful, and for very little pay. Not worth it imo. 

• Like 1

I have never had this kind of job but I had one similar. I was working for a company who needed me to call businesses to ask permission to fax them letters and deals on a service. This one guy I spoke to not only called me something VERY sexist but he told me to get a real job. I almost cried when I hung up the phone. 

• Like 1

At my ecommerce project the customer service team was one of my favorite teams to work with. 

I do not like talking on the phone either but I have done it plenty of times before.